• 2016-4-960

    What is a dermatologic surgeon?

    Part of a progressive medical subspecialty, ASDS member dermatologists perform medically necessary and cosmetic procedures to improve the health, function and beauty of skin through every stage of life.

  • 2016-3-960

    From forehead furrows to frown lines…

    Performing more than 5 million cosmetic procedures each year, ASDS member dermatologists offer many treatments that are less intense, safer and have quicker recovery times than ever before.

  • 2016-2-960

    3 million Americans are diagnosed with skin cancer every year

    Any suspicious new growths or changes should be examined by a dermatologist immediately. ASDS member dermatologists are trained to select the best treatment choice based on the individual patient.

  • 2016-1-960

    From excess fat to wrinkles…

    Offering a range of office-based cosmetic procedures, ASDS member dermatologists can select the appropriate treatment choice to meet your individual goals.

+ / -
Article to be sent via email:

To email(s):
(use commas to separate multiple addresses)
  (use commas to separate multiple addresses)
Your name:
Your email address:
Add a Message:
Home » Media

ASDS elects officers, board members

Thomas Rohrer

ASDS President Thomas E. Rohrer, MD

Thomas E. Rohrer, M.D., began his term as President of the American Society for Dermatologic Surgery and the American Society for Dermatologic Surgery Association during the 2016 ASDS Annual Meeting in New Orleans.   

Along with his fellow officers and the ASDS/ASDSA Boards of Directors, Rohrer assumes leadership of the largest specialty organization exclusively representing dermatologic surgeons.  

Dr. Rohrer is a physician at SkinCare Physicians in Chestnut Hill, Mass., and an adjunct associate professor of dermatology at Brown University in Rhode Island. He received the ASDS President’s Award in 2010 and is a past recipient of the Excellence in Education award.

“I will passionately fight for strong advocacy for all aspects of dermatology and dermatologic surgery on both the national and state level,” Dr. Rohrer said. “We must align with other organizations both within and outside of dermatology. We will be far more successful being proactive than reactive.”

Dr. Rohrer succeeds Naomi Lawrence, M.D., who becomes the Society’s Immediate Past President.

The new ASDS leadership team also includes President-Elect Lisa M. Donofrio, M.D., and Vice President Murad Alam, M.D., M.B.A., as well as three new members of the Board of Directors and a new Board Secretary.

Dr. Donofrio is a partner at the Savin Center PC in New Haven, Conn. She also is an Associate Clinical Professor in the Department of Dermatology at Yale University School of Medicine and Assistant Clinical Professor in the Department of Dermatology at Tulane University School of Medicine. Dr. Donofrio has contributed to numerous ASDS efforts, including the Awards Work Group and Patient Photographic Consent Task Force. She will become ASDS President in 2017-18.  

“My goals are to create a unified voice for our specialty, to increase dermatologic surgery procedural requirements within our residency programs and to defend our position against legislative efforts that threaten to pigeonhole our scope of practice as dermatologists,” said Dr. Donofrio.

Dr. Alam, of Chicago, is Vice Chair of the Department of Dermatology at Northwestern University, where he also serves as a Professor of Dermatology, Otolaryngology and Surgery and Section Chief of Cutaneous and Aesthetic Surgery.

“I hope to work with our physician leaders and capable staff to continue the important work of ASDS and to do my best to overcome obstacles in this time of uncertainty and change,” Dr. Alam said.

As Vice President, Dr. Alam will ascend to President-Elect in 2017-18 and President in 2018-19. He has served on numerous ASDS committees and work groups, including the Cosmetic Dermatologic Surgery Fellowship Accreditation Work Group and Task Force on Guidelines on Neurotoxin Reconstitution, Use & Storage.

Elected to three-year terms on the ASDS/ASDSA Board of Directors are: Doris Day, M.D., of New York, N.Y.; Lawrence J. Green, M.D., of Rockville, Md.; and Margaret A. Weiss, M.D., of Hunt Valley, Md. The three new board members will serve until the 2019 ASDS Annual Meeting.

Sue Ellen Cox, MD, also began her term as ASDS Secretary. Dr. Cox was selected by the Board of Directors to serve as Secretary until the 2019 ASDS Annual Meeting.

Render 960px View
Render 768px View
Render 480px View
Render 320px View